The Black Mage Series Is Getting Shiny New Covers!

Posted January 10, 2017 by Inge in Features, Tea Party // Random Thoughts / 7 Comments

Hello!

Normally I don’t really do cover reveals, but this series is very special to me, so I was more than happy to lend my blog for this! You guys, I don’t even know where to start with this series. I currently have 10 different tabs open because there is SO MUCH I WANT TO SHOW YOU.

Let’s start at the beginning. There is a series.

“Gosh, Inge, really? Do tell us more!”

I’m glad you asked.

The series is about Ryiah, a peasant girl with magic powers who is after the cloak and title of the Black Mage, the most powerful wizard of Combat. She becomes a student at the Academy, a magic boarding school with teachers who are tough as nails and take no shit from students. Her powers are by no means extraordinary, but her determination to get to the top is. Battling her for the revered cloak, among others, is Darren, prince of Jerar and founder of resting bitch face. His powers are extraordinary and come with a lifetime of training and experience. What follows is a series filled with battle scenes, blood magic, a love/hate relationship with so much tension you’ll have three ulcers by the end of it, badass female characters, and a lot of heart.

I mean, I’m just flailing all over the place here. My words don’t do this series justice. But the real reason for this blog post is that the books are getting new covers, and I’m one of the lucky few who get to showcase them on the blog!

So, without too much more rambling…

*drum roll*

HERE THEY ARE.

Aren’t they gorgeous? They’re so shiny and beautiful — definitely bookshelf candy. I mean, I just love how cohesive the whole thing looks, and how Ryiah’s confidence grows with each cover. These are definitely the covers this wonderful series deserves.

A few points:

  • These new editions will not be available for purchase until 26 January (the final book, Last Stand, will go up on the same day). The new editions will have new covers, fresh edits, and updated content. Please note that the old editions of the series will be removed from all vendors between now and 23 January. If you would like to be notified when the new editions are available to purchase from all ebook retailers, you can follow her on Amazon, BookBub, or her newsletter.

  • Would you like to start reading the series now for free? Rachel is giving out the prequel novella Non-Heir  (told from Prince Darren’s point of view — you can find my review here) if you sign up for her newsletter. She also notifies readers of new releases, giveaways, and sales first!

Here is the blurb for the first book, First Year:

The Black Mage Series Is Getting Shiny New Covers!

Magic. Romance. Rivals. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice —pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm’s three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage…

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail—first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will she survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

You can find my raving review for it on Goodreads here, where you can also add it to your TBR (which I highly recommend you do, really). I think my favourite thing about this series is that it’s so badass. Ryiah doesn’t develop special snowflake skills overnight, but rather she trains like a beast to get better, so you really have something to root for. My review explains it a lot better because my brain is pudding right now. BUT IT’S GOOD, I PROMISE.

About Rachel E. Carter

Rachel E. Carter is a YA & NA author who hoards coffee and books. She has a weakness for villains and Mr. Darcy love interests. Her first series is the bestselling YA fantasy, The Black Mage, and she has plenty more books to come.

Sign up for her newsletter to stay up to date on all new releases, giveaways, and sales: http://bit.ly/rachelecarter.

Aside from literally everywhere on the Internet, you can also find her on Snapchat @RECarterAuthor, on Wattpad, and you can email her at rachelcarterauthor@gmail.com. Really, you should follow her everywhere, because she’s super nice and she has great taste in music. She also makes a point of engaging with her readers, which is so awesome of her.

I cannot recommend this enough.

Divider

7 responses to “The Black Mage Series Is Getting Shiny New Covers!

  1. Oh my goodness this looks?? Incredible??? I have absolutely no idea why I haven’t devoured this series yet, but the new covers are utterly gorgeous & I have no doubt that the inside is even better. Cannot wait for the last book to come out in just a few short days! Thank you so much for sharing these lovelies with us, Inge. <3

Leave a Reply