The Color Project // Prepare For Glitter Bombs

Posted August 17, 2017 by Inge in Reviews / 3 Comments

The Color Project // Prepare For Glitter BombsThe Color Project by Sierra Abrams
Published by Gatekeeper Press on August 17th 2017
Pages: 464
Goodreads

Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn't want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee's summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.

One StarOne StarOne Star

Thing You Should Know About The Color Project #83: The first half of the book will make your heart swell to three times its normal size

I’ve been looking forward to this book for ages, and now I’ve finally read it! And it was all kinds of wonderful, but I also had a few issues with it.

Here are some things that I liked about The Color Project:

• The whole thing where Levi tries to guess Bee’s name was really cute, even though it got old after a while.

• Levi himself. I mean, as mentioned in the book, he is such a Precious Heart. I would call him a Precious Cupcake myself, because he does so much for other human beings.

• The Color Project is an organisation to provide for people who really need the money – to put a kid through college, or to pay hospital bills. Boom, just like that, they’re given a check, no strings attached, everyone happy. Especially the case where Bee goes out of her way to help plan a wedding in two weeks’ time was really lovely.

• My favourite part of the entire book was probably Albert, a character whose sole purpose is to glitterbomb people.

• I loved the fact that Bee worked at a florist’s, and reading about her putting together bouquets was actually really lovely, because her love for the art shone off the pages.

• This book celebrates donuts.

• It is stupidly adorable.

• Describes strong friendships and great family relationships.

• The word “sister-pretzel.”

Thing You Should Know About The Color Project #293: The second half of the book will then grab your heart and dance on it

Here are some things that I didn’t like so much:

• It felt unnecessarily long. Goodreads tells me that the paperback is 464 pages, and boy you really feel that after a while. As a result, things that were cute in the beginning (like the name thing) got old, and I started to struggle with it a little. For me, this story could have been about 50-100 pages less and it would have been perfect.

• This also means that things got really dragged out every now and then.

• It’s kind of a slow-burning romance, but when they do get together, there’s a LOT of cheesy encounters and so much kissing. Which got annoying to me, but will probably be a great joy to other readers.

Overall, though, I would definitely recommend The Colour Project to those who like kissing books, or are fans of contemporary in general. You will smile, you will tear up, and you will have read a lovely story.

Thank you to the author for providing me with an ARC

Divider

3 responses to “The Color Project // Prepare For Glitter Bombs

  1. Great review! I’m so glad you enjoyed this book – I agree, it is so adorable, I really loved that. It felt a bit too long towards the end, it definitely could have used less pages to get through the point, but it still was a great read 🙂

Leave a Reply